the yamas and niyamas expalined feature

*This post may contain affiliate links, which means I may receive a small commission, at no cost to you, if you make a purchase through a link. For more information you can read our terms and conditions.

The Yamas and Niyamas of Yoga Explained

There comes a time when yoga practitioners start thinking beyond their mats. When this happens, it’s the perfect opportunity to study the Eight Limbs of Patanjali. More specifically, the yamas and niyamas.

👉 The yamas and niyams provide guiding principles for leading a yogic lifestyle.

first steps into philosophy

Most people discover yoga through the physical practice: the breathing, postures, and meditation. At some point questions arise.

Why do I feel so much better? How can I feel more content and calmer all day long? Crazy how this one-hour of poses seems to untangle everything in my life, not just my body.

And this is usually the time you starting thinking about yoga teacher training to get some of those answers. (In fact, I think every yoga practitioner should go through teacher training just to deepen their own practice.)

During teacher training, the first module focuses on yoga philosophy which always includes the Eight Limbs of Yoga and the yamas and niyamas. I consider the yamas and niyamas as the 10 Commandments of Yoga. These are the ten ways in which people who practice yoga can live their lives with intention.

eight limbs of yoga

Around 600 BCE, a man by the name of Patanjali systemized the Yoga Sutras. The Sutras are organized into four books, or chapters, and you’ll find the Eight Limbs in Book 2.

Titled Practice, Book 2 outlines physical lessons we can undertake to achieve a state of yoga. Where most people start their deeper studies of yoga is with the Eight Limbs of Yoga.

Those eight limbs are:

1. Yama – Restraints

2. Niyama – Observances

3. Asana – Posture

4. Pranayama – Breath Control

5. Pratyahara – Sense Withdrawal

6. Dharana – Concentration

7. Dhyana – Meditation

8. Samadhi – Bliss, Union

Scan any online book retailer for the Yoga Sutras or the Eight Limbs of Yoga and you’ll be overwhelmed with the results. There are many translations of the original Yoga Sutras, so pick one and start your studies. Or like many, join an in-depth studies course to learn more.

We’re going to specifically look at the first two limbs: yamas and niyamas.

5 yamas in yoga

The first limb is called yama which is Sanskrit for restraint. This is how you relate to the world around you, how you show up.

There are five yamas:

1. Ahimsa – Non-violence

2. Satya – Truthfulness

3. Asteya – Non-stealing

4. Brahmacharya – Moderation

5. Aparigraha – Non-greediness

5 niyamas of yoga

The second limb is called niyama which is Sanskrit for observances. Ni in Sanskrit loosely refers to your soul so niyama is the way in which you relate to your internal world.

There are five niyamas:

1. Saucha – Purity

2. Santosha – Contentment

3. Tapa – Burning Impurities

4. Svadyaya – Self-Study

5. Isvara Pranidhana – Surrender to the Divine

final thoughts on yamas & niyamas

These are the simplest translations of each yama and niyama. However there are nuanced layers to each one, providing us with many lessons.

As you dive deeper into the inner workings of yoga, the “ten commandments” show you how to live your life with more meaning and intention.

enjoyed this post? pin me, please!

what are the yamas and niyamas of yoga
how the yamas and niyamas guide our lives
the yamas and niyamas explained

You might also be interested in:

Shannon with Purple Lotus Yoga
Hi! I'm Shannon

For 20 years, I’ve helped women of all ages and sizes to realize their dreams of becoming inspiring yoga teachers. 

Let's Connect
Blog Catgories

Yoga teachers

Resource Library

join the yoga teacher library footer image


Download your free PDF yoga sequence and use it when you teach your next class!

Thank you!